Ups and Downs on the road to Bolton – Weeks 1-6

Time is flying! I have now officially started my Ironman training plan and am on week 6/30.

I was really looking forward to finally starting the training officially, it hasn’t really gone to plan so far though, typically!

Week one was a write off due to having a cold. Ended up needing steroids again as it flared my asthma up. I did however, manage to do a very gentle park run and  the xmas day dip at Lowestoft on Christmas day which was just fab!!

Onto week two. On boxing day I decided to give the Groggy Doggy a go, was starting to feel better and really wanted to do this race. Took it easy and ran with Stu which was really nice. Loved it. I was so close to my 1,000k running target for the year I decided to take advantage of a day off on the Tuesday and ran 14k. Felt fine the evening afterwards but work up the next day in agony with my calf. Couldn’t walk on it. I really thought I had torn the muscle as it was so bad. The rest of the week I wasn’t able to do anything.

Week three started and my calf was still painful but starting to feel better. I wasn’t booked into see Bev (my physiology) until the week after and was starting to get cabin fever. I therefore decided to give the cross trainer a go at the gym and went for a swim on the Monday. Went for another swim Wednesday and felt brave enough to try the turbo on the Thursday. My calf felt so much better after the turbo, so turbo’d again on the Friday. Again it felt so much better. Managed to stick to the plan finally for the swim and bike anyway. Felt so much more positive.

Week four. This week was loads better, after seeing Bev and finding out it wasn’t a tear I was able to start running again. Very gently and no great distance but it felt amazing!! Started to see real progress on my swimming and cycling so a rest from running seems to have done me good. The target for this week was – Totals (7 hours) – 2 hours swim, 2 hours 30 min bike and 2 hours 30 min run. I managed the swim and bike and was only 45 mins short of running. Progress!!

Week five. Getting back to normal now, thought still conscious of not over doing it on my runs. Stretching lots as well!! Please, please always stretch after you run. Massive learn for me. I also had another big learn this week after trying to attempt the Sufferfest Knighthood (10 sufferfest videos back to back) how important nutrition is. My fitness didn’t let me down on the day. I really thought it would but my lack of nutrition did. I must get better at preparation and planning. Otherwise I am never going to finish Bolton no matter how much I train!!

Week six. How are we at the end of January already. Time really is flying.  Saw Bev again and my right calf is still really tight. Need to be really careful with it. Lots of stretching and no crazy runs. Seeing her again in two weeks. Had to pull out of Freethorpe 10. Apart from that is was another good week and managed to stick to plan with my swimming and cycling.  Target totals (9 hours) – 2 hours swim, 3 hours 45 min bike and 3 hours 15 min run.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

