4 weeks since Monster Middle

Four weeks have passed so quickly. So much has happened personally and fitness wise since the Monster Middle, it quite mind boggling!

Didn’t really rest the week after monster. Needed to take my mind of things. So on the Monday I turbo’d to spin my legs out. Tuesday night went swimming in Fritton. Wednesday night I coached a Scores training session and did some running. Thursday night I rode the GYCC time trial with a friend. Had a rest day on Friday. Decided to give Gorleston park run a try on the Saturday. It had been so long since I’ve ran it and wanted to get away from Lowestoft. I got a course PB which I was really chuffed with, however I forgot my barcode so no result. Sunday was great fun, we cycled to Framingham for Stu’s birthday. This week I have also started to do some core strength work. Loving this class.

Totals for the week (8h 56m)

Swim – 55m

Bike – 7h 

Run – 1h

Week 2 post Monster started really great. Did some scores race training with a nice breakfast afterwards. I worked from home on Tuesday and managed to go of a lovely sea swim on Tuesday. Wednesday was core strength at lunchtime and then in the evening I coached a scores training session and got a little bit of training in myself. On Thursday I think I lost my mind! Went for a lovely Fritton lake swim and ended up entering the “big swim” that was taking place that Sunday. This in itself is not crazy, however I decided along with Rich to do all three of the swims. A combined total of 9.5k. Had a great rest day on Friday. On Saturday I again went to Gorleston, after forgetting my barcode the previous week I had a score to settle! I managed with the help of fantastic friends to get a massive PB, 24:22!! So chuffed. Went for a sea swim in the afternoon with Pete, it was choppy but fun.  Sunday was big swim day, the first swim was the 5k. This was by far my longest swim and really enjoyed it. Wasn’t as tired as I thought I was going to be when I exited the lake. Had around an hour before the next swim so had a small bite to eat. Then headed back into the water for the 3k swim. Again felt okay, bit hungry and needing some food but okay. The turnaround for the last swim was a lot shorter, only time to register and grab a drink really. Was looking forward to getting out of my wetsuit but this point. Had been in it since 8:45 and it was now almost 3! Wanted to really go for it on this last swim as it was only 1.5k. I didn’t have much energy or strength left though so was slower than I hoped. However still so pleased to have completed all three. At the start of the day I didn’t think I would be able to front crawl the whole distance but I managed to. Really great friendly relaxed event, will definitely do it again next year. Me and Rich were the only ones to do all three swims which was pretty cool.

Totals for the week (8h 20m)

Swim – 5h 26m

Bike – 31m

Run – 2h 23m

Week three post monster didn’t start as great. My asthma started to play up again over the weekend and into Monday. Did my usual coaching on a Monday night but didn’t feel up for running. Did my first ever Pilates session Tuesday night. It was so tough but great. Wednesday evening we did the final scores training. My asthma was bad again this evening and could only manage a jog. So frustrating. Thursday was work running club and a lake swim in the evening. Friday I went back to the doctors, asthma still no good. Was sent to the hospital for an X-ray and blood tests. After the hospital I went for a spin with Vicki and Karle to Southwold. Was lovely to get back out on the bike as hadn’t really done any cycling since Stu’s birthday ride to Framingham. However the lack of lung power and energy through not eating much the past few weeks really hit me. Felt frustrated and fed up to be honest. I decided to sign up to the Scores race last minute so went to Fritton park run and cheered everyone on. Still not feeling like going to Lowestoft. Did go for a sea swim in the afternoon. Sunday was Scores race day, was excited and nervous about this in equal measures! Excited to see friends and loved ones. Nervous as I stupidly agreed to take Becca’s pleas in “Team Harris”. All three of which are just amazing. I woke up with bad asthma yet again and was feeling really sorry for myself. However I gave it all on the race itself and managed to get a PB, not quiet the sub 40 I was hoping for but considering everything it was a good result. We even managed to win the team prize so was relived to have not let the side down!

Totals for the week (5h 46m)

Swim – 42m

Bike – 2h 28m

Run – 2h 34m

So here we are week 4, post Ely. Did a 7k off road run before swimming on the Monday. Tuesday I took a well earned rest evening, was so good. Wednesday was core strength at lunch and at night was back to Beccles for training and we did 1m sprints. Loved it and felt so strong.  Thursday was lunch time running club and a gentle spin on the bike in the evening. Its going to get boring sorry but my asthma again was bad. I took the day off on Friday, had been struggling emotionally the previous day. Went for a bike ride and lovely beach run in the morning with Rob C. Loved the run so much but my asthma really held me back, which was embarrassing as I was running with someone so fast!! Rob was fab though, so patient with me. Thank you if you happen to read this!! Vicki and I decided to cycle over to Gorleston park run on the Saturday, we wanted to take advantage of the nice weather while is lasts. I pulled up after only one lap of the course, so frustrating. My left calf was very painful. Gutted. Managed to cycle home okay, headed straight back out to do the annual “lido to locks swim”. So much fun with the club, it was a 4.5k swim in the river. Loved it. Finally on the Sunday I took part in Aldeburgh relay triathlon. It was a last minute decision as Pete Andrews’ team needed a swimmer, so I volunteered. It was a sea swim and I was dying to try out my new skills and get a sea swim race in before Mallorca next year. I really, really enjoyed it. It was tide assisted which really helped but I got a good swim in. The whole event was brilliant and one I recommend for next year. Well organised, relaxed and friendly and a really nice venue.

Totals for the week (8h 22m)

Swim – 2h 3m

Bike – 3h 10m

Run – 3h 8m

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

