Fritton Lake Super Sprint Triathlon – 20th June 2015

I cannot believe it has been one year already since I did my first Triathlon. What an incredible 12 months.

As said previously, I do want to start doing longer distances, however I decided to sign up to the super sprint distance again to see how much I have (hopefully) progressed.

Come race day I was actually feeling pretty nervous, even though I love Fritton and was really looking forward to the event. I was worried that I wouldn’t get the time I wanted (a sub 1 hour) and that I would make a mistake or do something embarrassing, as I had a few friends and family coming along to watch me.

Registration was very fast and easy. Transition was nice and roomy with only 3 bikes to a rack which was great.

There was live music, The Beach radio and a BBQ which gave a really nice fun, festival feel to the event.

My previous time last year was 1 hour, 5 minutes and 46 seconds (See previous post if you want more details).

This year due to road works the bike course was 2k shorter, so I did take that into consideration. I worked out that I would have completed the 12k version of the bike ride last year in 31:50. Taking the time to compare down to 1:00:26.

I was braver in the lake this time round. I started much closer to the front, still a little bit back but not right at the back. I came out of the water feeling strong and fairly high up the field.

Transition went ok, however I must practice putting on my race belt. I put it on the wrong way and lost a few seconds trying to do it up.

I found the bike a bit tough, my legs felt dead. Not sure if it was down to only doing Pinewoods the Sunday before or the fact I didn’t do much training during the week.

Second transition felt good and no mistakes.

Onto the run, and again my breathing let me down. It was so difficult to catch a breath and settle into my stride. I was trying to push and catch the lady in front of me. I was gaining on her, but with less than 1k to the finish I was over taken by someone I knew was in my age group. There was no way I was going to keep up with her, I did managed to catch the lady I was originally chasing however I knew the chance to win an age group trophy had just slipped out of reach.

I finished the race in 49 mins. Which I was absolutely over the moon about. A whole 11 mins faster, which is incredible. I was gutted to have missed the age group win by such a small margin though (17 seconds). I was pleased with who did win it though as I know the lady and she is great. I just would loved to have won for everyone who came down to watch especially my Uncle from America and for Beccles Tri Club.

It was still a fantastic day and was so pleased to have given it everything. No regrets at all. 2nd in my age group and 9th out of 32 women (47/190 overall). Like Pinewood’s I managed to improve at all sections of the race.

Full set of results are here 

Review

Location – Fritton Lake and surrounding area. Great Yarmouth, Norfolk NR31 9HA

Type – Open Water Swim (1 lap), cycle on public roads (1 lap) and a run on trails around the park (2 laps)

Entry Fee – £40 (£35 with BTF* membership)

Medal – Yes and age group trophies.

Goody bag – Free swim hat

Event facilities  – Free on-site parking, cafe, showers, toilets, massage tent, live music, Beach radio, BBQ, Lucozade stall and Swans stall.

Chip timed – Yes

Start Type – Mass start

Would I do this event again? – Yes

Overall Score – 10/10

Summary Again this race was brilliant. Scott and the team make this a really friendly event. It is perfect for newcomers and experienced Triathletes. It is also a great event for spectators. Roll on next year.

Leave a Reply

