Beccles Triathlon Club & Waveney Valley AC

Finding these clubs has had a massive influence on how my life is now.

After completing Fritton Lake and loving it, I knew I wanted to do better at the next Triathlon I had booked. The Victory triathlon was one month away, at this point.

I knew I needed to improve in all areas, having upgraded my bike to a road bike would help on the cycle part. I was doing parkrun which I hope would help with the running. So decided to Google local swimming lessons. I thought learning front crawl would be a good idea to work on.

Firstly I was surprised at how difficult it was to find swimming lessons for adults on-line. Not very encouraging for those who want to learn how to swim or improve/get more confident.

After not having much luck I then tried looking for a local Triathlon club.

I came across Rock Estate but they looked very professional and didn’t think they would welcome a novice newbie like myself so carried on searching. Tri-Anglia were another club I came across but again there wasn’t really anywhere on their site encouraging new members, and its based in Norwich which wasn’t really practical.

I then found Beccles Triathlon Club, and thank goodness I did! Straight away they seemed like a friendly club, that would welcome someone like me. I got in contact with Kate, and have never looked back since.

Kate and Jase have set up a club they should be really proud of. They are both friendly, encouraging and so supportive. I have now learnt front crawl, which I would not have done on my own. Swimming with the club gave me the confidence and push I needed to break out of my comfort zone.

On Wednesday nights we run with Waveney Valley AC running club. Again Richard and Mike are brilliant coaches, they made me feel so welcome but also gave me the motivation and support to really get into running. I NEVER thought I would enjoy running but I do now thanks to them.

I have met so many fantastic people through both clubs, and I want to thank everyone who continues to support, encourage and inspire me. You are all brilliant.

I would recommend anyone who is interested in Triathlon, running, cycling etc to see if there is a local club near you. You won’t regret it.

Beccles Triathlon Club Website 

Waveney Valley AC Website

3 comments

Leave a Reply

