Waveney Spring Triathlon – 10th May 2015 Review

A few weeks ago I didn’t think I would be able to participate in this Triathlon. Due to hurting my back on a gym rowing machine. Luckily however I did recover in time. Would have liked more training to prep for this race, but we can all say that.

The start wave for this event was unusual. It was based on registration order. I really wanted to get an early swim time so decided the get to registration at 6:45, 15 mins after it opened. However the queue was already very long and spent the next 30 mins waiting to register.

The free gifts you were given we actually really good. Was impressed.

My race number was 70 and had a race start time of 9:35. The first wave went off at 8.30. I must say it was actually quite nice having a bit of time to change and have a cuppa. A very different, more relaxed start when compared to Gt Yarmouth. However it did give me time to worry and get nervous. I really wish I could relax!!

The 400m swim was 16 lengths in one lane. There were marshals counting your lengths and warned when you had 2 left to go.

It was then onto a 20k, 1 lap bike section. This was quite hilly but a lovely countryside route. It was however quite a lonely bike ride. With no one in front of me to chase down. I did feel good though, much stronger than my last tri.

Then came the 3.2k run, and boy it was tough. Hills. It was an out and back style lap. Hills. It was tough, so tough. Found my breathing difficult to get under control and disappointingly had to take my asthma inhaler. However I didn’t stop running and even managed a little sprint finish.

All in all I was really pleased with my effort today, Completed the tri in 1 hour 9 mins and 1 second. I finished 8th in my age group and was 20 out of 45 women overall.

Full set of results are here

Review

Location – Waveney Valley Pool, St John’s Hill, Bungay, Suffolk, NR35 1PH.  Tel: 01986 895015

Type – Pool Swim (16 laps), cycle on public roads (1 lap) and a run on public paths (1 lap)

Entry Fee – £40 (£35 with BTF* membership)

Medal – Yes and age group trophies

Goody bag – Yes. High5 bottle and nutritional goodies. Free swim cap also.

Event facilities  – Showers, toilets, lockers, free parking, Tri-harder stall and coffee truck.

Chip timed – Yes

Start Type – Individual timed start, start time based on registration time. Females and males competing at same time.

Would I do this event again? – Yes

Overall Score – 8/10

Summary Registration was really slow, quite competitive but great support from spectators, great goody bag and medal. Tough run course.

Leave a Reply

