East Coast Triathlon – First Tri of 2015 and Review

It seemed so long ago when I signed up for this, however it came around so quickly, how is it April already!!

For some reason I lost all confidence in my ability to complete a Triathlon and was in panic mode again. To the extent that I almost didn’t turn up today.

It hadn’t been the best of weeks, was away for part of the week with work. Rob has been very ill and have spent the rest of the week looking after him. Had hardly any sleep and was feeling pretty run down and unprepared.

However thanks to my wonderful friends and family who constantly help support and encourage me, even though I know I must be so annoying. They helped me get through today and I absolutely loved it.

I loved the mixture of people who took part today, from those that had to rest after every 25 meters, who swam with their heads out of the water doing breaststroke and to those on mountain bikes. These people are what make this sport so great to watch and be a part of.

Race registration was a little bit slow and made getting ready a little bit of a rush. However that was probably a good thing as it meant after race briefing I only had time to put my bag into a locker and go straight to pool side (I was number 13).

The 250m swim was 6 lanes, where you did 2 lengths and then went under the rope into the next lane. After doing 10 lengths you were at the exit side of the pool. This worked really well as it saved you having to keep count.

The 16k bike section also was really good as there was always someone ahead of you to chase. It was 3 laps along Gt Yarmouth sea front.

Finally a 3k run, that was along the promenade. It was an out and back style which again meant it was easy to work out where to go. Finishing at the Marina Centre.

I finished in 1 hour and 1 minute. Would loved to have broken the hour mark but at the same time was really chuffed with that time as it was faster than I was hoping.

I finished 2nd in my age group and was 17 out of 56 women overall. Full set of results are here

Really great start to the season. However need to work on my bike more for the next race.

Review

Location – Marina Centre, Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth, NR30 2ER

Type – Pool Swim (10 laps), cycle on public roads (3 laps) and a run on beach Promenade (1 lap)

Entry Fee – £38 (£33 with BTF* membership)

Medal – Yes and age group trophies

Goody bag – No

Event facilities  – Cafe, showers, toilets, lockers, paid for parking

Chip timed – Yes

Start Type – Individual timed start, fastest swim times first. All females and then males.

Would I do this event again? – Yes

Overall Score – 9.5/10

Summary

Registration was slow and took a while. However I can’t fault anything else. Great event.

* British Triathlon Membership

2 comments

Leave a Reply

