Parkrun is amazing

So…..I finally managed to complete the 0 to 5k app. After doing week 4 over and over again I managed to get there!! I could jog non-stop for 25/30 mins. Having asthma this was something I thought was impossible.

However this was all in the safety of a gym. Where it was cool and controlled and easy-ish.

It was April 2014 and only 2 months away from the Triathlon I was still in denial about. When my friend Rebecca suggested we go to “parkrun” together.

It was a 5k organised run around Fritton Lake where the triathlon would be taking place and free!

I was terrified but didn’t want to let my friend down so said yes.

The Saturday morning approached way too quickly and I was so scared! The thoughts running through my head were…

1. How will I know where to go

2. What about if I am last

3. Can I even run 5k

4. Everyone is going to laugh at me

However all my fears were for nothing. Everyone was so friendly and the atmosphere was fantastic.

I didn’t get lost, I wasn’t last and I managed to jog all the way round. Here is a link to the results – http://www.parkrun.org.uk/frittonlake/results/weeklyresults/?runSeqNumber=101

I can honestly say that parkrun has changed my life. I have now completed 23 parkrun and my time has gone down from 33:19 down to 26:20.  http://www.parkrun.org.uk/results/athleteresultshistory/?athleteNumber=936047

It isn’t a race, you don’t have to run it and I promise you won’t regret giving it a go.

There are 56,609 parkruns worldwide. http://www.parkrun.com/

Leave a Reply

